Title Loans in Virginia |‌ PaydayloanHelpers

Where can I apply for a Virginia car title loan?

Online and in-person title loans are available in Virginia. It is easier to find title loan shops in larger cities such as Richmond and Virginia Beach. This is a rapidly growing industry, so there may be stores in smaller towns and cities. Although you can sometimes start your car title loan online, completing the process in a physical store is more common. This will allow you to have your vehicle inspected and receive your funds.

Title loans online

Online title loans are possible in Virginia. However, you can’t have the funds deposited directly into your bank account. Your lender will disburse the funds to you in cash, check, or debit card. Even if a lender does not require you to inspect your vehicle, you might still need to go to a store to get your money.

Online title loans are a good option if you need loan preapproval. After you submit an online form, many lenders will provide you with an estimate of the loan amount and cost. This is based on your financial situation.

How to apply online for a title loan

These steps will be required if you plan to go online first.

  1. Compare your loan options, and then click Go To Site to apply.
  2. Complete the fields required and submit your form.
  3. Set up an inspection with your lender if you have been preapproved
  4. To have your vehicle appraised, visit a branch and fill out your application.
  5. You can read the loan contract and sign it. Then you will receive your funds.

What are Virginia’s title loan laws?

Virginia has many regulations that protect borrowers. These include limits on the amount you can borrow and late charges.

  • Maximum loan amount No more than 50% of the vehicle’s value
  • Loan terms:120 Days to 12 Months
  • No more than 5% of your payment amount for late fees
  • Extensions and Rollovers: None permitted

Lenders can’t charge interest for missed payments that are more than 60 days old or vehicles that have been repossessed. They are also unable to receive payments via electronic withdrawals from the bank account.

Returning your title

Your lender will require you to repay your title loan fully and close out your loan.

  • Your original loan agreement should be marked paid, canceled.
  • Stop the lien from your vehicle’s title.
  • You can return your vehicle’s title.

Contact the DMV of the state where your vehicle is registered if you have difficulty getting your title back. For further assistance, contact Virginia’s Attorney General to file a complaint.

Repose your vehicle

Before repossessing your vehicle, your lender must send you a notice in writing 10 days before. The information must include the following:

  • The principal amount of the loan.
  • The interest is due.
  • You can avoid repossession by repaying the entire loan amount.

Sell your vehicle

Your lender must notify you within 15 days of repossession that it intends to sell your vehicle. The following information must be included in this notice:

  • The principal amount of the loan.
  • The interest is due.
  • It is possible that your vehicle was sold at a specific date and time.
  • Here is a list of reasonable repossession expenses.

Your lender may not charge you for storage fees after repossession.

To get your vehicle back, you can repay your loan anytime before the sale. Your lender can also sell your car if you are unable to repay it. Depending on the amount of your payment, one of two things may happen.

  • Suppose the vehicle is sold for more than the amount due. Any excess money you receive from the sale must be paid to your lender. If you owe $4,000 to your lender, and your vehicle is sold for $5,000, you would get the $1,000 remaining.
  • Suppose the vehicle’s sale price was less than the amount due. If your car is sold for less than the loan amount, your lender will not be able to collect money from you. If your loan amount was $5,000 but your vehicle sold for $4,000, your lender would not be liable for the additional $1,000.

Virginia Car title loan requirements

Virginia car title loans don’t require many requirements. If you meet the following criteria, you will likely be eligible for a loan:

  • Get a motor vehicle title that is free from the lien.
  • At least 18 years of age

You may need to provide proof of income or government-issued identification. Before applying, make sure to check the requirements of your lender.

There are many options to consider before you apply for a Virginia car title loan.

These options may be able to help if they need cash quickly or are facing long-term financial problems.

Payday loan alternative. Payday alternative loans (PAL) are short-term loans offered by selected federal credit unions. To qualify, you will need to be a credit union member. However, the APRs are low at 28%.

A cash advance for credit cards Considers a cash advance if you have enough credit on your credit card. These usually have APRs of around 30%, which is significantly lower than the auto title loan providers.

Friends and family. Friends and family might be willing to lend a hand if you have a few hundred dollars left to make it through until the next paycheck. If you don’t wish to give the money as a gift, you can draw up a contract for a loan.

Installment or payday loans. Title loans do not have the same benefit as short-term loans. They don’t need collateral. Because Virginia caps the interest that a payday lender can charge, it may be less expensive to borrow if you have a smaller amount.

You may also be able to request a loan from your creditors to consolidate debt. Credit counseling services may be available if you have been having trouble managing your finances.

Bottom line

While a car title loan might seem appealing if you have poor credit or are short of cash, it can also be costly and could result in your vehicle being repossessed. Because of Virginia’s cap on interest and regulations regarding repossession, you might be better off than if you were in another state that has less oversight.

Questions frequently asked

Can I cancel my loan?

Yes. Virginia permits you to cancel your loan within one business day of taking it out. You can cancel your loan by paying the total amount via cash or writing a check.

How do I get my money?

Your loan proceeds can be received in cash, check, or debit card. The lender will not charge you a check or use the loan funds on a debit card.

Can I transfer my loan?

No. Virginia law prohibits you from refinancing or rolling over a title loan. You may be subject to multiple fees or even repossession if you cannot pay your loan on time.

What insurance do I need for my vehicle?

It depends. It all depends. A lender might require insurance, but you don’t have to choose between a number of providers or go with one provider.

What is the maximum number of title loans I can have at once?

Virginia allows only one title loan per person. A title can only have one lien holder. You can’t get a title loan if your vehicle is still in payment. Also, you can’t get a new loan for the same title as a loan you have already closed.

My lender can collect on a deficiency if the sale is completed.

No. No. According to Virginia law, lenders cannot sue or collect for losses incurred after selling the vehicle. There are exceptions. You may be responsible for any deficiency if you sell the car without permission from the lender, don’t disclose a lien on the vehicle, or deliberately destroy, damage, or hide it.

Tags

interest rate
loan terms
sell your car
due date
120 days
car title loans
cash fast
loan amount
short term
loans in virginia
business day
quick and easy
repay the loan
ability to repay
12 months
vehicle title
required documents
virginia title
loan proceeds
state corporation commission